Andre Russell returns for West Indies’ next three T20 series | Cricket News – Times of India


All-rounder Andre Russell Russell has not performed worldwide cricket since March 2020 (TOI Photograph)

West Indies have recalled all-rounder Andre Russell for Twenty20 collection in opposition to South Africa, Australia and Pakistan as they put together to defend their 20-overs World Cup title in India later this yr.
Russell has not performed worldwide cricket since March 2020, although he was energetic in T20 leagues in West Indies, Sri Lanka and India.
Left-handed batsman Shimron Hetmyer and bowlers Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas and Hayden Walsh Jr additionally returned to affix the 18-member squad led by Kieron Pollard.
“These upcoming T20Is are essential when it comes to our preparation for the ICC T20 World Cup,” head coach Phil Simmons stated in a press release on Tuesday.
“Now we have assembled a really stable squad — with skilled world-class match-winners and a few thrilling younger gifted gamers able to explode onto the worldwide stage and do nice issues for West Indies cricket.
“We’re at that time the place we’ve got recognized those that we are going to look to be the core of the squad to defend our World Cup title …
“We gained 5 years in the past, so the following few weeks and months might be main stepping-stones on the highway in direction of defending our title and being World Champions for a 3rd time.”
Spinner Sunil Narine once more sits out, having earlier knowledgeable the board he was not able to return to worldwide cricket.
Veterans Dwayne Bravo, Fidel Edwards and Chris Gayle are additionally within the squad, which can quarantine and practice in St. Lucia forward of the collection opener in opposition to South Africa in Grenada on June 26.
They are going to subsequently play related five-match collection in opposition to Australia and Pakistan in July-August.
West Indies T20I squad: Kieron Pollard (captain), Nicholas Pooran (wicketkeeper), Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Fidel Edwards, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Evin Lewis, Obed McCoy, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Kevin Sinclair, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr


Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here