Monday, October 18, 2021
HomeSports NewsEnglish County Championship Returns To Two-Division Format

English County Championship Returns To Two-Division Format

Warwickshire had received the County Championship in 2021.© Instagram

The English County Championship will return to a two-division construction from subsequent season after two coronavirus-affected campaigns, the England and Wales Cricket Board introduced on Thursday. The Bob Willis Trophy was launched in 2020 and a three-group construction used for this yr’s first-class competitors. Subsequent yr, 10 groups will play in division one and eight groups in division two, with a two-up, two-down promotion-and-relegation system.

Every county will likely be positioned into the division they’d have been set to compete in had the 2020 County Championship taken place.

Lancashire, Northamptonshire and Gloucestershire received promotion to Division One and Nottinghamshire have been relegated to Division Two.

The return to 2 divisions, with every group enjoying 14 matches, was voted via by the first-class counties.


Division One: Essex, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Kent, Lancashire, Northamptonshire, Somerset, Surrey, Warwickshire, Yorkshire

Division Two: Derbyshire, Durham, Glamorgan, Leicestershire, Middlesex, Nottinghamshire, Sussex, Worcestershire

Subjects talked about on this article

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments