Thursday, October 21, 2021
HomeSports NewsHetmyer, Russell return to West Indies' provisional squad | Cricket News -...

Hetmyer, Russell return to West Indies’ provisional squad | Cricket News – Times of India

Shimron Hetmyer and Andre Russell

ST JOHN’S (Antigua): Star gamers Andre Russell, Chris Gayle, and Shimron Hetmyer have been on Tuesday named in West Indies‘ provisional 18-man squad for the back-to-back five-match T20 Worldwide dwelling collection towards South Africa, Australia and Pakistan.
Russell and Hetmyer final performed in 2020 whereas Gayle was a part of the collection towards Sri Lanka in March.
The expanded squad maintains the mix of skilled gamers with thrilling younger expertise because the West Indies proceed preparations within the build-up to the defence of their ICC T20 World Cup title, to be held in India in October-November.
Sheldon Cottrell, Hetmyer, Russell, Oshane Thomas and Hayden Walsh Jr. return alongside nearly all of the squad who featured within the 2-1 T20I collection victory towards Sri Lanka. Kieron Pollard will lead the facet.
The provisional squad will quarantine and prepare in St. Lucia forward of the primary T20I collection towards South Africa beginning on June 26 on the Grenada Nationwide Cricket Stadium. The official squad will subsequently be chosen and introduced forward of every Collection.
CWI’s lead selector, Roger Harper, defined the pondering behind naming this squad.
“The provisional T20I squad was put along with all T20I dwelling collection matches towards South Africa, Australia and Pakistan in thoughts. This provides us the chance to proceed to construct in the direction of the upcoming World Cup and to find out our greatest squad and our best eleven.”
West Indies are the defending T20 World Cup champions and likewise lifted the title in 2012.
“CWI has been working carefully with regional governments, their ministries of well being and CARPHA to make sure the coaching camps and matches can proceed inside a bio-secure atmosphere. All gamers and help workers will bear rigorous COVID-19 testing previous to and through every of those engagements,” it stated in an announcement.
Windies Squad: Kieron Pollard (captain), Nicholas Pooran, Fabian Allen, Dwayne Bravo, Sheldon Cottrell, Fidel Edwards, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Evin Lewis, Obec McCoy, Andre Russell, Lendl Simmons, Kevin Sinclair, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.


Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments